What To Do If You’re Facing Your Third DWI Charge

Being charged with a DWI offense can have severe consequences—especially if you are a repeat offender. Don’t face these charges without an experienced Ocean County DWI attorney by your side.

It is important that you look for a DWI attorney that you can work closely with as there is a high chance that you could go to jail if you’re not properly represented in court. In this post, we are going to explain the penalties you may face for a third DWI/DUI charge, and what you can do to fight the charges.

What Are the Penalties For DWI in New Jersey?

The penalties for first-time DWI offender may include:

• Up to 30 days in jail

• Up to $500 in fines

• Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device

The penalties for second-time DWI offenders may include:

• Up to 90 days in jail

• Suspension of driving privileges for 1-2 years

• Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for between 2-4 years

• Up to $1,000 in fines

The penalties for a first- and second-time DWI offense are harsh, but they are even more serious for third-time offenders. If this is your third DWI charge, the penalties you may face include:

• Up to 180 days in jail

• $1,000 in fines

• Suspension of driving privileges for 8 years

• Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for between 2-4 years

What is An Ignition Interlock Device?

One of the penalties for repeat DWI offenders is the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). If this is your third DWI offense, you may be required to use this device for up to 4 years.

An IID is essentially a breathalyzer that is connected to the ignition of your car. You will be required to blow into the device before starting the car. If the device detects alcohol on your breath, the car will not start.

The whole point of the device is to prevent someone who is under the influence from driving.
Having an IID in your car is not only an inconvenience, but it’s also expensive. You are required to cover the costs of installing and maintaining the IID, which could set you back hundreds of dollars.

What is the Lookback Period?

If you’re facing a third DUI charge, it crucial to know when and where the first and the second one took place. In New Jersey, the “lookback” period for DWI offenses is 10 years.

This means that if you have two DWI convictions on your record within the last 10 years, you are considered a third-time offender if you are charged with DWI again. If the convictions happened more than 10 years ago, you will be treated as a first-time offender if you are charged with DWI again.

How Long Will It Take to Resolve Your DWI Case?

The amount of time that it takes to resolve your DWI case will depend on a number of factors, including how you plead and whether or not your case goes to trial.

Seek Legal Representation For A Third DWI Offense

A third DWI charge is not something that should be taken lightly. If you have been charged with DWI for the first time, it’s in your best interest to seek legal representation from an experienced attorney as soon as possible.

Having an experienced attorney by your side is the most effective way to fight your charges and avoid or minimize the legal penalties of a third DWI conviction.

Related Blog Posts

Can You Be Charged With DWI on Private Property?

Can I Refuse Sobriety Tests if I am Pulled Over in New Jersey?

How Will a New Jersey DWI Conviction Affect Your Driving Privileges?

Challenging Breathalyzer Test Results In Court