Enter your keyword

Penalties for Driving While on a NJ DWI Suspension

If you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, one of the penalties you may face is a suspension of your driver’s license. If you are caught driving at any time while your license is suspended, you could face even more penalties.

Penalties for First-Time Driving While Suspended Violation

The penalties for a first-time driving while suspended (DWS) violation include the following:

Jail Sentence License Suspension Fines Surcharges
First Driving with a DWI suspension 10-90 days 1-2 additional years $500 $750

Penalties for Second and Subsequent DWS Violations

A second or subsequent DWS violation is a fourth-degree crime in New Jersey punishable by:

Jail Sentence License Suspension Fines
Second or Subsequent Driving with a DWI Suspension 180 days to 18 months (no parole or probation) 1-2 additional years $10,000