Penalties for a NJ DWI Second Offense
If you have been convicted of DWI in New Jersey within the past ten years, your second DWI conviction will result in enhanced penalties:
|Jail Sentence||License Suspension||IDRC Detainment||Community Service||Fines||Surcharges|
|Second Offense within 10 years||2-90 days||2 years||12-48 hours||30 days||$500-$1,000||$3,000+|
For a second DWI within 10 years, you will be also required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for the duration of the license suspension plus an additional one to three years following the restoration of your license.
Your auto insurance may also be affected by a second DWI conviction. Your insurance company may raise your rates or cancel your policy altogether.
No Temporary Driving Permits in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey does not issue work permits or limited driving licenses during a driver’s license suspension. This means that if your license is suspended, you will not be able to drive—period.