Penalties for a New Jersey DWI First Offense
A DWI conviction can trigger severe consequences—even if you have a perfect driving record and no previous criminal history.
The state of New Jersey uses a multi-tiered penalty structure for DWI offenses. Under this structure, drivers who had a BAC of 0.08% to 0.099% are classified as “General DWI” offenders and those whose BAC was 0.10% or higher are classified as “High Rate DWI” offenders.
|Tier||Description||Jail Sentence||License Suspension||IDRC Detainment||Fines||Surcharges|
|General DWI||B.A.C.=.08 to 0.099%,||Up to 30 days||3 months||12-48 hours||$250-$400||$3,000+|
|High Rate DWI||B.A.C.=.10 or higher,
Controlled Substance DWI
|Up to 30 days||7-12 months||12-48 hours||$300-$500||$3,000+|
In addition to these fines and penalties, a DWI conviction can trigger a host of other consequences such as increased auto insurance rates, travel restrictions, an ignition interlock device and potential job loss.
A Word About Temporary Driving Permits
New Jersey does not allow work permits or limited driving licenses during a license suspension period. A DWI license suspension means no driving—period.