Enter your keyword

New Jersey Commercial Driver DWI

Commercial driver’s license holders face harsh penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey. If you are a CDL holder, even a first-time DWI offense could render severe consequences—including the loss of your career. Many trucking companies are hesitant to offer work to someone who has a drunk driving conviction.

Who Can Be Charged?

According to New Jersey state law, a CDL driver can be charged with DWI if he or she:

  • Operates a private vehicle while having a BAC of 0.08% or higher
  • Operates a commercial vehicle while having a BAC of 0.04% or higher
  • Operates a vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance
  • Refuses to submit to a chemical test

Penalties for first-offense CDL DWI

Description Jail Sentence License Suspension IDRC Detainment Fines Surcharges
Normal DWI Penalties B.A.C.=.08 to 0.99%, Up to 30 days 3 months 12-48 hours $250-$400 $3,500+
B.A.C.=.10 or higher,
Controlled Substance,
Refusal
Up to 30 days 7-12 months 12-48 hours $300-$500 $3,500+
CDL Suspension CDL Suspension for Violation in a HAZMAT Vehicle
Additional CDL Penalties 1 year 3 years

Penalties for second-offense CDL DWI

Description Jail Sentence License Suspension IDRC Detainment Fines Surcharges
Normal DWI Penalties 2-90 days 2 years 12-48 hours 30 days $500-$1,000 $3,500+
CDL Suspension
Additional CDL Penalties Lifetime Suspension

DWI in Non-Commercial vehicle

A CDL holder will be punished the same way no matter if the DWI occurred in a commercial or non-commercial vehicle. So even if you were driving a private vehicle, your CDL will be suspended for one year upon a first-time DWI conviction—no questions asked.