Will I go To Jail After My NJ DWI Charge?
If you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, you face a real possibility of jail time—even for a first offense. New Jersey has enacted some of the toughest DWI laws in the country, and even someone with a perfect driving record and clear criminal history can end up in jail for a first offense.
Jail Sentence for New Jersey DWI Convictions
|1st Offense||Up to 30 days|
|2nd Offense||2-90 days mandatory|
|3rd Offense||180 days mandatory|
Consequences of Going to Jail
The stigma attached to going to jail can have serious repercussions in many areas of your life. For example:
- Social and professional humiliation
- Lost pay for missed work or possible loss of job
- Strain on your personal relationships
- Denial or revocation of security clearance for certain jobs
How Can I Avoid Jail?
The only way to avoid jail time and guarantee your freedom is to fight your DWI charge and win. New Jersey DWI cases are extremely complex and involve a number of legal and procedural details. Many people who are not versed in New Jersey DWI laws end up making critical mistakes when handling their cases. It is in your best interest to speak with an attorney before proceeding with your case.