DWI Costs in New Jersey
Just because DWI is not a criminal offense in New Jersey does not mean that a conviction will be cheap. On the contrary, DWI convictions in our state will cost you on two fronts: fines and penalties.
Fines are fees that are ordered by the court as part of your DWI sentence. Depending on the number of priors on your record, your fines could range from the following:
- First offense: $250 to $500
- Second offense: $500 to $1,000
- Third offense: $1,000
Paying fines is only the beginning. Everyone who is convicted of or pleads guilty to DWI is also subject to these penalties:
- Motor Vehicle Restoration Fee: $100
- Violent Crimes Compensation fee: $100
- Intoxicated Driver Program Fee: $100
- Surcharge for Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund: $100
- State and Municipality Fee: $100
Additional expenses will be assessed as part of your mandatory participation in the Intoxicated Driver Program, which can range from $500 to $800 in total.